Pumpkin Seed Saving



I made granola! Sort of. My version probably isn’t that healthy but it is pretty darn good mixed with my morning yogurt. You could also add more nuts and make it like a snack mix for the holidays as well. I kinda sorta adapted it from a recipe,  mostly just to look at proportions, this is a very flexible base that you substitute and make it pretty much any way you desire.

2 cups oats (I used regular rolled oats)
1/4 cup sunflower seed kernels (they were slightly salted)
2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup walnuts
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/3 cup vegetable oil, or flax or sesame or whatever
1/2 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup Water
1 cup dried fruit; (I used cherries, cranberries, blueberries, and strawberries mix)

Preheat to 300’F.

If you’re going to add dried fruit, you may want to reconstitute it in a bowl of hot water, let it set until you’re done baking. Take all your dry ingredients and mix them together until fairly uniform. In a separate small bowl mix all your wet ingredients together as if you were beating an egg, you want it to be homogeneous. Pour the wet into the dry mixing as you go.

Pour a tablespoon or so of your oil into the baking pan, use some paper towel to get an evenly coated grease into corners and edges especially. I guess you could be fancy and use parchment paper instead but I’m not.

Dump the mix and spread it out in your baking dish. Pop it in the oven and stir it every 20 minutes or so. I only cooked mine for 45 minutes but my oven is very wonky and the base recipe says an hour. Essentially you want crispy crunch, not mush like it was pre-baking. Let it cool down enough so that you can handle the dish with a bare hand and mix in the fruit, at this point you want it get down to room temperature before you freeze, refrigerate, or otherwise store.

Hubby says it could’ve used more honey, but I think I probably should’ve just added the sugar I had previously omitted.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Seed Saving

  1. It actually isn’t too bad. Honey or maple syrup is what I use. A little less oil, maybe. Another option I’ve used is heating some honey in cranberry juice, and using that to mix the granola in before you bake it. Works really well when you use dried cranberries! We don’t like a whole bunch of extra sugar.

What do you think?

