Make your own monstrous windscreen

At about 4pm on Monday I remembered that Tuesday is podcasting night (hey, we’re only on episode 3). I needed a windscreen for my headset microphone. You know, so I wouldn’t blow out my listeners’ eardrums again.

In other news Tuesday night also turned in to an angry baby noise exhibition. Follow through to see my very brief and not very informative tutorial.

Anyhoo, I called around to a few places, checked the internets, and found that I could cheaply make one at home. Then I forgot about it until Tuesday afternoon. I looked around, I found some padding that I used for my wallet and some funfur confetti yarn. Homemade dead cat? Check!

I started off with some of that thin padding and just made a little sock to go over the mic. It looked pretty cute. Especially with my super unmatched thread choice.

So with the yarn I thought I’d just chain (crochet) it and kinda stitch it onto the sock. I ended up with a big bad furball mess that I twisted around the mic. Did I mention that chaining is about the only crochet I know?

Surprisingly it worked very well. What worked even better was the foam that I ninja’d from a cheapy headset that Benj bought for me. So ninja’d foam plus super bad crochet monster equals superior windscreening.

3 thoughts on “Make your own monstrous windscreen

What do you think?

