In a world where blog posts happen bi-monthly…

I made pizza. Not the wonderful goodness that gets carted to your door or even the stuff you pull out of the freezer. Real super nice pizza. Dough recipe is kind of pieced together from a few recipes. My main changes to this was to proof the yeast first, substitute olive oil, and add in 1 1/2 teaspoons of garlic A Resting Doughpowder. Olive oil is just my personal preference but it’s also what I used to make the tomato sauce/pizza sauce. I love garlic, so anywhere I can add it in… plus it’s good for you! Proofing the yeast in the warm water first allows it to grow and gives you a less crispy crunchy crust (more like a hand tossed variety). A word on proofing and the type of yeast I use, active dry yeast usually needs warm (110’F) water and some sugar. I skip the sugar and just have it get “creamy” over the course of approximately 10 minutes. After I got all the flour mixed in I let it rest like you do for bread dough for a short period of 30 minutes.

For the pizza sauce I mostly just made it up on the fly.

1 can Diced Tomatoes (~15oz, not drained) or fresh if you have it
1 Tbsp. Olive Oil
2 garlic cloves (pressed or minced)
1 tsp. Basil
1 tsp. Oregano
1 tsp. black pepper

Combine all ingredients and let simmer while covered for 10 minutes. Pulse a few times in a food processor or blend to liquefy further. I used dried spices, so if you’re using fresh scale to your tastes, I mostly just checked to see if I got a good spice to liquid ratio going on in the pot. This was also enough sauce for 2 cookie sheet sized pizzas.

Photo_556ADCEC-9865-A58C-0B2E-6DDF00F1AA3BWhile the dough rested and the sauce cooled I prepped out the toppings. Ikea kid food bowls are awesome for setting them out if you’re letting people make their own personal pizzas. I chopped up some Cotto salami (which turned out really gross on the pizza), onion, black olives, mushrooms, string cheese (low-fat mozzarella), and a couple slices of provolone. As you can tell I used what I had in the pantry but I can see remaking this with some amazingly fresh ingredients and having it be really healthy.

I didn’t get a chance to take a picture of the first pizza (we were all very hungry) but I did manage to snag one of the second. It even reheated well for lunch the next day 😀

WP_000643

2 thoughts on “In a world where blog posts happen bi-monthly…

  1. Love the crispy/crunchy texture to crust myself but this looks good. I did the low-fat cheeses for a long time but switched over to ‘full fat’ milk, cheese (whites over ‘dyed yeller’) and other dairy products, like sour cream. That, along with less pre-packed foods is what finally spurred a bit of weight loss for both me and my daughter.

    Anyway, your pizza is making me hungry! Mike said for me to get a pizza for supper but now I want homemade and don’t have the ingredients to make one. Blarg!

    • I stole the string cheese from my 3yo’s snack box in the fridge (lol), but really I just use whatever I’ve got, I had seem some recipes for the dough that didn’t even use yeast, so there’s plenty to do to substitute 😉

What do you think?

